Flight Instructor issues....

Discussion in 'Rules and Regulations / Flight Safety / Better Pil' started by MadProfessor8138, Sep 15, 2019.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Sep 15, 2019 #1

MadProfessor8138

MadProfessor8138

MadProfessor8138

Has anyone else ever had issues with their flight instructor ?

My info :
    I have a few 100 hours in ultralights & light experimentals,quite a few hours in the Mini 500 helicopter and I've flown a few gyros....so I'm not a newbie by any means.
    I've decided to become "legal " and get my PPL....hey,we all have to grow up and be responsible at some point.

Instructor info :
    Nice guy with a great personality.
    Has ZERO experience with a Piper Tomahawk other than what I'm teaching him.
    He finds my Tomahawk to be weird,funky and crude.
    He has landed her twice and it wasn't pretty either time.
    He's currently driving me crazy !!!

He signed me off for "Solo" yesterday but instead of being happy about this,well,I'm sorta erked about the situation because he begrudgingly signed me off.

Here are some issues that have me agitated about the hours that I've flown with him.....

1. Crabbing into the cross wind....that's a no no in his book....he wants the aileron into the wind approach.
    I apezed him and gave him what he wanted.
    The Tomahawk does not like that approach with its long/ thin wing...its a handful to keep from tip stalling it in gusty conditions.
    It will do it...but you're definitely on your toes the whole time.

2. No stall landing....he doesn't want to hear the stall horn at all before touching down.
    My typical landing is to bring her in at around 70 knots on final,flare out in ground effect and hold her,let the speed decay and she will touch on the mains with the stall horn going off,hold the nose off until she settles in herself,then roll out.......
    She just got greased in ....