New design for a long range aircraft

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

watt

I finished this concept for a long range 4 seater, and I would like to push the design further, and even, maybe, one day build it.
I know a bit about aircraft design, but I am not an engineer and not very good yet with computers as a design tool. I would greatly appreciate comments, help and suggestions.
I have a million questions ready to fire, so here are the first three:

My wing is flying at 3 million reynolds, do you think that it is leaving pure laminar flow regime, and does it makes sense to use a laminar flow wing?

I am planing to make this aircraft as silent as possible, any suggestions?

I would like to use the long AR wing for range and economy, Is there any drawback from it other than structural, (Stall, behavior, passenger comfort.)

Best regards everyone, great forums!

Attachments

SVSUSteve

do you think that it is leaving pure laminar flow regime
In all practical application, there's no wing that maintains completely "pure" laminar flow.

I would also point out that for most small aircraft, the range should be limited by the capacity of the human bladder. Not to mention that even the most comfortable seat after three or four hours starts to become a prison.

Jan Carlsson

I like the design, 12 h range at 55% 1425 NM

one q. how is head room in the circular fuselage?

Laminar or turbulent airfoil is also a question of building material.

cluttonfred

HBA Supporter