Newb dreaming of ultralights

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

DaveyG

Hi all thanks for having me! Ever since I was a small boy, about 3 decades ago, I’ve had aviation on my mind, either in the forefront (told ppl I wanted to be an aerospace engineer at age 8) or on the back burner, in some form or another. I’m a machinist by profession and a hobbyist gunsmith, engine builder, welder, fabricator. Anyway, more recently I’ve been learning more about the laws and regulations regarding airplanes, and more importantly the lesser regulations concerning ultralight craft, has me thinking that perhaps designing and building my own ultralight might be the way I get my dreams off the ground... which brought me here. I’ve been a big fan of snowmobiling as well ever since I was a child, mom and pop had snowmobiles before I was born so I kinda was destined for that as a hobby, which in turn, is actually what led me here, looking for tips and tricks for 2-stroke Rotax snowmobile engines... I think I’ve got that under control now, for the moment, but the idea of building an ultralight is still pulling at my heart. Anyway, I look forward to lurking and learning a bit before I jump into a new project with both feet.

Dana

Super Moderator
Staff member
Welcome, Davey! I would suggest starting with an existing design and learning to fly that first... you don't want to be a student pilot and test pilot at the same time. Once you have a little experience, you'll have a better idea of what you want to design.

DaveyG

Welcome, Davey! I would suggest starting with an existing design and learning to fly that first... you don't want to be a student pilot and test pilot at the same time. Once you have a little experience, you'll have a better idea of what you want to design.