Homemade snowplane 4 stroke motor

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

PaulyG

So I'm new here. I've never done a project with a propeller before so I'm kind of learning as I go but I figured I'd ask a question here in hopes to save myself some time and money. So I built a small go kart sized snow plane. I have a 3 blade 42" prop that's rated for 4000rpms. I have a predator 212cc motor. I'm guessing that's not gonna be enough to push this thing. So I was looking at getting either a 13hp predator or would I need the 22hp predator motor? The 13hp is only rated for 3600 rpms where the 22hp is rated at 4000 but I'm wondering if the 13hp would have enough to move it along. The snowplane with me on it and having the 6hp maybe weighs 250 pounds. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks!

PaulyG

Its a 42" 3 blade composite prop. Right now I've got 9 degree (I believe) pitch blocks in it. I've also got 8 and 10. As far as speed it would be nice if I could hit at least 30ish mph or Even 20. But Any faster would be awesome too. I am very new to this propeller stuff so I really don't much about them.

Attachments

TiPi

Log Member
That should be easy enough then: Put the small engine on, take it for a run, record engine rpm and speed (GPS), then we can work out what you need. You might need to change to the lowest angle pitch blocks to get the rpm up above about 3,000 to 3,300rpm

HeavyIr0ndad