Quantcast

Foam of choice for sandwich airplane construction

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

birdus

I'm just getting into composite construction (and having lots o' fun learning) and don't know what the foam of choice is for fuselage and wing panels. This is for my F4U (AKA "Carbon Corsair") project. There's blue, yellow, PVC, Divinycell, Last-a-foam, 3lb, 4lb, 5bl, etc., etc., etc. I'm a long way of from building the plane, but am doing research, planning, design, etc. In the near future, however, I want to do some sample panel layups for 1) experience, 2) to get an idea how many layers I want on the outside for resistance to screwdrivers, airshow dummies, bird strikes, etc., and 3) to get some numbers for initial weight estimates.

What foam should I buy? I'll probably get 1/4", 3/8", and 1/2" sheets for testing. Also, I'm going to be building the spar(s) according to Jim Marske's instructions. Will I use the same type of foam for the spar shear webs?

Thanks,
Jay

BoKu

Pundit
HBA Supporter
Divynicell H60 or its generic equivalent has been our go-to since we started. It's probably the single most common material and density in the industry. We use:

* 1/4" or 6mm for wing skins, wing spar shear webs, and vertical fin sandwich

* 3/16" for horizontal tail (though we might switch this part to 1/4")

* 1/8" for all control surfaces

birdus

Divynicell H60 or its generic equivalent has been our go-to since we started. It's probably the single most common material and density in the industry. We use:

* 1/4" or 6mm for wing skins, wing spar shear webs, and vertical fin sandwich

* 3/16" for horizontal tail (though we might switch this part to 1/4")

* 1/8" for all control surfaces
Great! So, I see that's the 4lb yellow foam. Interestingly, it looks like Aircraft Spruce sells only the 3lb and 6lb. However, they sell something called Last-a-foam in 4.5lb. Is that the same thing? Looks like it may be.

Thanks,
Jay

BoKu

Pundit