Flight Physical Question

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Peterson

I am just a lowly student pilot right now, but still pretty stoked about my first solo flight coming up. I was wondering if the Class 1W flight physical I did with the Army will satisfy the requirements needed to be allowed to solo, or if I will need to get a civilian flight surgeon to give me a different type of exam.

Thanks in advance

pwood66889

Check out FAR Part 67 (Federal Aviation Administration) as to what each class of FAA flight physical covers. Since you appear to be currently flying Army swing-wing, I believe your 1W (what ever the W means) will suffice. How often do you get those?
`Zat CH-47 you, Pete? And can I give your regards to Ft. Rucker?
Percy in SE Bama

Peterson

WOC packet in and goes to board in May. I really hope I can give your regards to Fort Rucker, but won't know for sure until June. CH-47 is my goal, unless the V 280 actually gets picked up. I'll check the FAR, but lots of that legal speak is like trying to read a foreign language on sleeping pills.

BillM

When I was in the air Force (LONG time ago) I got my flight physical on base at no cost to me. I was flying in the USAF aeroclub on base if that makes any difference.
BillM

FritzW

Log Member
It's a paperwork thing not a health thing. Unless the Army Flight Doc is an FAA blessed Flight Doc and is willing to do all the FAA paperwork your Army Class 1 won't do you any good. (and vise versa)

I played the "two physicals a year" game for a long time. I'd tell my civilian flight doc that I just had an Air Force Class 1 and he'd say "okay", then he'd snap a blue rubber glove on his hand and say "bend over" :gig:

Sadly, it's "apples and oranges".

P.S. congratulations on getting into the WOC program!

Peterson

I appreciate the answers, and it looks like I'll also be playing the 2 physicals a year game.