Ultralight Trike for experience pilot?

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

Skywardbound172

Hello all!!

I have been looking at Ultralight Trikes for a few weeks now and I have some general questions for anyone who has flown a Trike and also flow other aircraft.

Im an experienced pilot with over 4,000 hrs of flying a current airline pilot and experienced GA pilot. I have flown a quicksilver, variety of sport aircraft and every Cessna and Piper product imaginable, I have several hundred hours of tailwheel experience along with racing motorcycles and a background in welding and metal fabrication. Not trying to brag just give some history.

I have never flow a weight shift control aircraft or been hang gliding, and I know that an superior pilot uses his superior experience and superior judgement to never have to demonstrate his superior skills SOOOO is there anyone with trike experience that could shed some light on performance and or flight characteristics on an ultralight trike (single seat, beginner wing 35 HP engine).

Could anyone suggest good reading training materials for weight shift control?

Thanks for the consideration, looking forward to being part of the community!

CT

oriol

One of my pendular instructors told me that he once offered a ride to a fighter pilot, the thing is that the military guy had no flying experience in other than his military jet or as a passenger in an airliner.

As from what my instructor said the guy went crazy laughing and gesticulating since they took off. The instructor improvised a landing on a track that crossed some orchards, to prove the stol capabilities of the trike, he then asked his passenger what was so funny?

The army guy told him that he was totally shocked by taking off without experiencing any big accelerations, it was unimaginable to him to fly that slow and simple (no closed cockpit): he was delighted.