Simple six-pack replacement. Is there such a thing?

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Kurt Ayres

I'm wondering if there is a device out there that does nothing but replace the six-pack. I have zero experience in these matters, so please forgive my ignorance. This is for day VFR only in a low performance airplane; I don't need navigation capability and all the other bells and whistles, as I'm not going far or fast. When I've tried to research this on my own, I've been inundated with acronym after acronym, and my eyes just sort of glaze over. :) Seriously, if there such a device, or if you can explain in the simplest terms what I should look for, your help would be most appreciated.

gtae07

Thing is, if you’re replacing your six-pack (I asssume by that you still want some kind of attitude info) then pretty much almost anything out there is going to give you at least some kind of nav/map capability “free”.

I think your simplest bet is going to be something like an AV-30 or GRT Mini, but we really need more info to help you out. I’m willing to help you dig through options but I’d need to know what exactly you’re really trying to do—what you have now, what you’re trying to gain, what you’re replacing, etc. A picture of your current panel would be helpful.

Toobuilder

Log Member
Dynon D-60 is a direct replacement for the 6pack. The D-100 adds features and is a true efis

pfarber

HBA Supporter
If you're low and slow VFR why do you want all those gauges?

A simple cell phone app can give you GPS speed and altitude (some phones actually have a pressure gauge, not many). Google maps in offline mode give you basic nav. All you would need is oil temp/press/voltmeter/compass.

A decent used tablet is $50 velcro'd to panel. More money for fuel.

Pops

Log Member
CockpitAid - Apps on Google Play ---- Free.
Avare for the moving map GPS-- free

Last edited:

Vigilant1

Lifetime Supporter