my part 103 ultralight build -thread

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

Hey everybody, my name is Daedin and I plan to build a part 103 ultralight. I've been designing the ultralight for the past 11 months, and while that sounds like a long time note that I had school going on at the same time for 9 out of those 11 months, and school takes first priority. But I just finished with finals last week, and I can finally give my ultralight my full attention. So, I've been on HBA for a few months under a different account, I just figured that I ought to start a new account with correct details and everything. I've posted on the website before, and I love the community here! Everyone is so incredibly helpful, and I plan to be on here a lot more often because of that.
This thread is for questions I have about ultralight design, (I have a lot of them) and questions any of you guys might have about anything really.

So for my first question, can someone tell me how to estimate what my horizontal and vertical tail surface areas/volumes should be? I tried to use the vertical/horizontal tail sizing equations on pg 36 of Raymer's Simplified Aircraft Design For Homebuilders, but I couldn't tell what value I was supposed to put in for Swing, the wing area or the tail area? And why would I use the tail area in a problem that is meant to help me find the tail area? I tried the equation (pictured bellow) with the wing area for Swing, but I got a value of 39.16 ft^2, which doesn't sound right. Note that I have the tail 7.125 ft from the MAC, (or 5 ft from the trailing edge of the wing) a wing chord of 4.5 ft and a wing area of 124 ft^2.

Thank you, and I look forward to posting more on HBA!

Attachments

bifft

Swing is the wing area. The math looks correct. You're getting a large area out of the formula because your tail is kinda short.

BobDaly