Engine debate and choices?

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

snowy_50

So im still a newbie but i done some fair research
1. Im tempted by the viking for its price/power but im concerned from some bad reviews and the high numbers of engines fails in the auto conv. Category
2. I would go with a lycoming or ul but fuuuuuuuu there 3x times more expensive, and wanted to ask if any one knows companies or a place (other than ebay and this forum) to find air or liguid cooled 130hp engine?

These questions im sure have been asked so many times,so any help would be great and sorry to bother

KeithO

If you can afford it, buy the proven designs that are old. There is nothing to invent. If money is tight, then you may need to look at an "alternative engine". But there are certainly risks involved because that particular type of engine may not be a drop in for your air frame, so that means engine mount development, engine position possibly move for weight and balance ? New radiator/oil cooler setup etc etc. But the advantage is that engines like the Viking or Yamaha have fuel injection, no choke, run like a sewing machine, no carb icing issues to worry about or mixture setting for millenials who have possibly never run anything with a choke.... Usually a substantially lower fuel burn too, compared to the old dinosaurs...

Dan Thomas

Unless the builder is handy with engines and welding and other stuff, he can easily spend far more time and money on it than if he just bought a used aircraft engine. I installed a Subaru in a Glastar for an owner, no labor charges, and by the time it was done he could have had the Lycoming and been flying sooner and with far less hassle, and the airplane's resale value would have been about double what he ended up selling it for. There is just so much stuff to consider, and it's why we see so few auto engines flying around.