About the Varieze

Discussion in 'General Experimental Aviation Questions' started by AZmike, Jan 18, 2010.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Jan 18, 2010 #1

AZmike

AZmike

AZmike

I am new to homebuilt airplanes but plan on building one in the near future with my father. I have always been facinated with the varieze but cant seem to find any information on the kits. Does anyone one know if they are still available or would I be stuck with getting a used/unfinished kit? Either way it wouldnt matter but I have just been having trouble coming across kits for them.

Mike

2. Jan 18, 2010 #2

bmcj

bmcj

bmcj

Well-Known Member HBA Supporter

They were a plans built plane. They were never offered in kit form, but some companies offered some pre-made components. Plans are no longer offered by RAF, but you can find used plans (a bit pricey) and free-source plans. a partially built project is sometimes a good way to go.

Also, rather than the Varieze, you might consider the Longeze. Basically the same plane but a bit larger with refinements over the Varieze.

You say you are new to homebuilding. Have you worked with composites before? Have you researched the time and cost involved in building a Varieze (or any plane for that matter)? Do your homework before taking any big leaps. Find some local EAA chapters and look for members in your area who have built one of the Rutan designs. Builders are a giving bunch and always willing to help with advice or assistance.

Oh, and welcome to the forum.

Bruce :)

VORTILON... you are not too far from Mike and know composite work... care to add something here?

3. Jan 18, 2010 #3

Mac790

Mac790

Mac790

Mike,

Try here Canard Zone you will find more info there. But it would be a better idea to start Open-Ez project, there is no kit for Vari, and some parts are impossible to get.

Seb

4. Jan 19, 2010 #4

kent Ashton

kent Ashton

kent Ashton