XFLR 5 Newbie

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

charminbaer

Hey,

I'm new to XFLR5, and am looking for a solution for showing only a single curve in the polar view. Right now, I'm looking at 150 different curves for 150 Reynold-Numbers. How can I change that?
In other terms, why does nothing happen when I select a different airfoil in the dropdown menu? (It says TsAGI R-3a 14% in the concerning dropdown menu)

I hope you can help me.
Cheers!
MariusXFLR5.jpg

Birdman100

Ctrl+1=define an airfoil (or choose NASA, Tsagi, etc..)

Ctrl+5= airfoil analyze...

Select "Analysis", than "Define an Analysis" (F6).. This is if you want to analyse one airfoil at one Re.

I think your XFLR is set to "Batch Analysis" by default.

charminbaer

Tanks for the answer, that actually helps.
But what if i analyzed hundreds of Reynolds-Numbers, and they are all shown in the window, and I only want to display a special one?

Birdman100

Im not sure if there is that possibility, XFLR is a simple program, especially GUI. Try to find answer, or post question here.

May I ask you: why do you need to analyze hundreds of Re numbers?

It's a given task by my professor - I don't know either ;-)

We called that "busy work" when I was in grade school. :bored:

The only way to do what you want to do, that I can think of using XFLR5, is to break the project into a set of batches, and save them as different projects. If you need a clean graph of only one Re # then you are going to have to save it as it's own project.

You might be able to build a program in something like Mathcad using the underlying XFOIL foundation? You can then build a 3D graph, display any single Re number or just about any other output you might need.

charminbaer

Thx for the help so far! I was able to get it working.

Another question: I'm trying to do a viscous 3D Panel analysis for my model plane. For AOA -5° to 8.8° it works just fine. Then, i get this error message: