New Guy From New Hampshire

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BobRob, Sep 6, 2019.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Sep 6, 2019 #1

BobRob

BobRob

BobRob

Greetings and thanks for having me.

I am/was an instrument rated private pilot who stopped flying about 15 years ago due to a medical issue that will let me fly, but won't allow me to fly under the privledges of my private pilots certificate and instrument rating so Sport Pilot/LSA it is. After looking around the local area, there is nothing in that class I can rent so if I wat to fly, I have to buy. Other than the odd Ercoupe and Taylorcraft, there isn't much available to purchase either so I'm looking at the Zenith CH650 as a nice build project.

My background is 30 years fixing crappy old airplanes for the USAF, several years working PT for a small FBO doing line service and now I am in Quality Assurance, working in manufacturing...some aerospace, NASA and light machine shops.

The CH650 has caught my eye as it seems pretty capable for my "mission", looks cool and the building (from what I gather) looks pretty straight forward. Looking forward to reading other bulders thoughts on this and other Zenith projects.

Bob.

2. Sep 6, 2019 #2

BJC

BJC

BJC

Don't know your budget, but you might also consider an RV-12.

Welcome to HBA.

BJC

BobRob likes this.
  3. Sep 6, 2019 #3

lakeracer69

lakeracer69

lakeracer69

Welcome Bob,

I'm just outside the Manchvegas area. I am building a Lil' Bitts rag and tube biplane. Where are you in NH?

4. Sep 7, 2019 #4

BobRob

BobRob

BobRob

I'm up in Gilmanton.

5. Sep 7, 2019 #5

BobRob

BobRob

BobRob

I looked at the RV but after looking at engine options, the 130 HP viking option for the 650 is pretty tough to beat. That will leave more $$ for electronic goodies

6. Sep 7, 2019 #6

gtae07

gtae07

gtae07