Flight Training, Flight Safety.

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

Dan Thomas

I’m just starting to learn about aviation. I was always under the impression you have to be rich to fly, which I’m not. But in the last year or so I’m learning about ultralight planes and ultralight pilot licence. Maybe I could fly one day.
Of all the world's people, you are in the most likely group to be able to fly someday. It's not cheap, and most of the rest of the world can only dream about it.

Bigshu

Of all the world's people, you are in the most likely group to be able to fly someday. It's not cheap, and most of the rest of the world can only dream about it.
There are some very capable ultra lights out there, not all funny looking collections of tubes and wire...add in powered parachutes and the low cost end of the flying spectrum is really accessible.

Dan Thomas

There are some very capable ultra lights out there, not all funny looking collections of tubes and wire...add in powered parachutes and the low cost end of the flying spectrum is really accessible.
Yup. Years ago a larger percentage of the population had a pilot's license. Now it's around one-fifth of one percent that has a license or permit or rating of any sort, from ultralight up to air transport. The cost holds some back, but in my experience the biggest obstacle is the reluctance of a person to do the studying and practicing needed to achieve that ticket. The obstacle is usually within you. Most choose to spend their time and money on other stuff, stuff that offers more instant gratification. You have to want to fly pretty bad to get that license. A big percentage of flight students start and never finish. The rest never start. So we end up seeing that in a random group of 500 people, only one has a license.

Bigshu