ELT Mode C and lights - school me

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by mcurcio1989, Nov 10, 2014.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Nov 10, 2014 #1

mcurcio1989

mcurcio1989

mcurcio1989

Okay so it will soon be time for me to purchase these items and I have many questions. The aircraft will be a E-AB flown under light sport rules. I have found very little practical information for a new pilot and builder who has no experience purchasing this kind of equipment. I have read everything I can find in the regs but being experimental and light sport adds additional confusion for me. The text below is what I am unclear on.

ELT - My plan is to purchase a new or used ELT most likely if I cannot find used (or if you recommend otherwise) it will be this AMERI-KING AK-450 ELT from Aircraft Spruce I have no experience here but my thought is that flying in northwest Ohio I'm not going to just go missing and spending the money for a 406mz ELT is not going to be value added. We don't have large wood expanses or mountains and even the least populated areas have a farmhouse every mile. If I purchase the ELT in the link I am assuming I will need to buy the cable assembly and antenna? Anything I am missing or not thinking about here?

Mode C - I live about 35 miles south south west of detroit so I would be quite restricted if I don't have a mode c transponder. I really need to be schooled on this area. I would like to go used here I just want to get what I need to get by. Most of the time I will not be flying in the mode C veil and I will very rarely fly though the local class C airspace. I guess what I am looking for is information as far as what I will need in addition to an actual transponder - cables, mounting, antennas, altitude reporting, encoder, etc. This is tricky stuff to find information on.