SD-1 Builder From New Mexico

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by rbrochey, Oct 19, 2010.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Oct 19, 2010 #1

rbrochey

rbrochey

rbrochey

Hello, I spent over a year looking at all the kitplanes out there and finally decided on building the SD-1 MiniSport. I have had past Private Pilot training but stopped to focus on my family. But now that I'm older (and probably a better pilot) it's time to breath life into an old obsession, namely building my own plane for fun and adventure... I plan on hitting the books and skies to get an LSA license since I only want to fly for fun... I no longer need to be anywhere all that fast! I live in western New Mexico and would like to find other builders in the area. By day I am a business consultant and work by contract for local businesses and on the Navajo Nation. My wife, myself and two small children live on five acres in the Zuni Mountains near the Continental Divide. Elevation here is 7800 feet. So... now that I made my decision on what to build I thought it about time to join the homebuilt community. This is a very informative site! Thanks, Robert

2. Oct 19, 2010 #2

snaildrake

snaildrake

snaildrake

Howdy Robert-
    Welcome - great to see someone from my state sign on. The Zuni Mtns are a place of astonishing beauty -- it's cool you've made a life there. What would your home airfield be?

If you'd like to join an EAA local group, there is Chapter 179 here in Albuquerque. I have only met a few local guys building from kits or plans. I'd be glad to share whatever contacts I have. The Santa Fe/Los Alamos chapter seems to have more members flying experimentals than we do - curiously, there is so little hangar space at their home airports, a lot of them house their projects 50+ miles away in Moriarty (0E0).
    They count a Quickie, a KR-2s, and maybe a Cozy among their ranks, so they have composite building experience.