New in Alaska

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

Hey folks. Mitch here in Palmer, Alaska. Was a crew chief on Chinooks in the Army. I've wanted to be a pilot my entire life, starting when I first saw the show Airwolf when I was 3ish years old. Finally make enough money to where I can make that reality come true.

I'm a mechanic by trade. Didn't get my A&P, but it's on my radar.

Question is- what is the level of difficulty to build an airplane rather than buy one? High hour planes are still insane in price. It seems more cost effective to build one.

BJC

HBA Supporter
Welcome.

To answer your question, a little more information about what kind of airplane would help. For example, it is much easier and much cheaper to buy an existing E-AB than it is to build it. There are two reasons to build: to get what is not commercially available, and for the experience. For most, that experience is gained through a long term project.

BJC

TFF

Depends on definition of cost effective. Depends on type of plane. Alaska, fancy a Cub? The problem with Alaska is planes are valuable there, and you are in a bubble. Lower 48 they are somewhat cheaper. Getting one to Alaska is expensive. Comes in as a wash. New plane in Alaska is like new meat. Not Alaska worn. value goes up on it.
Where homebuilt wins is money spent can be in batches as you can afford. Your labor is free. You can build exactly what you want. No process is hard in building a plane. You do have to do all of it tho
Alaskans are lucky if in the Anchorage area because there are 4-5 aviation stores just like Walmart including aircraft spruce. Just walk in and get it.

I do fancy the cub being in Alaska. I've been searching for cubs in the lower 48, and even in the midwest the prices are high. I live in Palmer. Alaska Bushwheel is just down the road, so getting parts will be the easiest part of this IF I do decide to go the builder route.