How did you choose?

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

CdnMedic

So, finally getting close to that time where I can actually start a project. I've been away from this scene for quite some time, somethings are still the same, but there are things in the last few years that are really changing how things are done.
I started flying ultralights at 14, 22 years ago. One spirited aerobatic flight and realized THAT was the type of flying I wanted to do, and lost all motivation to finish my ultralight permit. Haven't been at the controls since. Joined the Army as a medic and life was too hectic. I'm now a structures tech in the RCAF, so I'm working on aircraft every day. My trade encompasses essentially everything aside from wiring and power plants. So the structural work, composites, finishing etc. Welding, Machining, textiles, it's all part of the job.
I like fast. I spent a long time racing motocross. Being in your 30s with a body full of screws and plates and enough joint cracking for someone my age, I decided to build a circle track car... Yep, too boring after racing 2 wheels. So, essentially I'm no longer wasting the money on racing. I had a street bike for a number of years (the girlfriend misses it) but sold it because I didn't want to die because someone was texting and driving. I built a pretty quick LS swapped trans am (learned how much I really enjoy building wiring harnesses). So yep, I like speed.
Myself and my other half live about a 1600km drive from our families, so the idea of a 6-8 hour flight vs 16-18 hours of driving is nice. I'm 190-200lbs she is 130ish.