GM 3.6L variants FYI

Discussion in 'General Auto Conversion Discussion' started by maticulus, Aug 11, 2019.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Aug 11, 2019 #1

maticulus

maticulus

maticulus

Good day. Since I joined this forum specifically to offer some clarification in a thread it turns out I can not post in after the fact, I'll kill to proverbial birds with one stone by combining my intro along with the info I intended to share, here.

I am an Army veteran/heli mechanic from long ago, that loves the subject of flight and aircraft, although I have not transitioned over to the point of becoming a licensed pilot (yet). I am also an avid motor head. I stumbled across this forum while doing research for a future performance build on a GM 3.6L V6, where I found the thread discussing the LFX motor.

In that thread I read some valid points and respectfully, as much that was far off the mark. I'm providing information that I believe those interested in the idea of this platform will hopefully appreciate, those who are not enthused might become such and those who think it's upside down might lighten up a little, or not.

The now 3.6L is an impressive motor over the iterations, DI=direct injected;
    2.8L, 3.0L and
    3.6L LY7 242-275 hp,
    LLT DI 281-304 hp,
    LFX DI 301-321 hp,
    LF3 & LF4 twin turbo versions, 420 & 464 hp respectively and the latest, a clean sheet design 3.6L LGX 305-335 hp with active fuel management.

With the exception of the LGX, the motors share several interchangeable parts, except those associated with the smaller displacement motors and all listed above are VVT on intake and exhaust. The Turbocharged 2.8L was a Saab application that I understand carried single camshaft VVT.