Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Oct 19, 2003 #1

W.M.Patrick

W.M.Patrick

W.M.Patrick

i am a mustang 11 builder and pilot, and have thought over what I
    would like in my next project. improve visability-by ssitting ahead of the wing- reduce noise level- auto engine - and it boils down to two
    designs. a pusher design with tandem seating and twin booms to the
    tail. frontal area 28" x 42". engine hp. 300 at 500#engine wt.
    The other option was a tractor design with auto engine the same and
    frontal area 48" X 42". Engine behind the spar like P-39.
    Question is where the prop inefficiency of the pusher would be made up for by less frontal area. Or the tractor design would outperform the
    pusher. Can anyone give me their ideas on this ??

2. Oct 19, 2003 #2

John Slade

John Slade

John Slade

Hi,
    First off, I see you're in Madison, MS. I think there's a fly-in at the Slovakia (sp?) airport just north of Jackson this weekend or next where you could see some experimentals. I may have read this in the canard forum or on the Cozy list.

I can talk to the pusher a little - A lot of the prop inefficiency in EZ type canards is due to lack of air to the prop, but RV's and Cozy's seem fairly close on speed with the same power. With an automotive engine you can remove the "cowl cheeks" and get a lot more air to the prop. 48 inches is pretty wide, however. Cozy is more like 38. The wider Velocity looses a little in speed.

The pusher design certainly gives good visibility and lets you leave the noise behind you. As for "twin booms to the tail", I have no idea. I'm no airplane designer, just a builder from someone else's plans.

3. Oct 19, 2003 #3

orion

orion

orion