Quantcast

Surfaces 2.8 - Aircraft design and analysis software

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

rbarnes

Anyone heard of and/or used Surfaces 2.8 design and analysis software ?

Thoughts ? Comments ? Thinking of buying it, but it's not cheap at $750 for the "homebuilder" version and $3,750 for Pro
Seems like an incredibly powerful tool for a layman like myself. Takes care of a lot that pesky maths shtuff....

FTEstudent

I don't know anything about this software, but it's not mainstream. Unless they have wind tunnel data to backup the accuracy of their simulation mode, physics, meshing, I wouldn't touch it. Fluent, STAR CCM+, Open Foam are the real programs that are used in industry but they're not cheap. I have no experience with Simscale but they seem reputable for low cost users.

cblink.007

Anyone heard of and/or used Surfaces 2.8 design and analysis software ?

Thoughts ? Comments ? Thinking of buying it, but it's not cheap at $750 for the "homebuilder" version and $3,750 for Pro
Seems like an incredibly powerful tool for a layman like myself. Takes care of a lot that pesky maths shtuff....

Believe it or not, XFLR5 and NASA's OpenVSP are pretty good for initial analysis and airfoil analysis/design, and both are free. We modified XFLR5 in house for higher Reynolds number, as the software was originally intended for model aircraft, and we have had good results with it!

FTEstudent

Those are only for 2D analysis if I'm correct. Seemed like the OP was looking for 3D analysis capability

rbarnes

I don't know anything about this software, but it's not mainstream. Unless they have wind tunnel data to backup the accuracy of their simulation mode, physics, meshing, I wouldn't touch it. Fluent, STAR CCM+, Open Foam are the real programs that are used in industry but they're not cheap. I have no experience with Simscale but they seem reputable for low cost users.