• Welcome aboard HomebuiltAirplanes.com, your destination for connecting with a thriving community of more than 10,000 active members, all passionate about home-built aviation. Dive into our comprehensive repository of knowledge, exchange technical insights, arrange get-togethers, and trade aircrafts/parts with like-minded enthusiasts. Unearth a wide-ranging collection of general and kit plane aviation subjects, enriched with engaging imagery, in-depth technical manuals, and rare archives.

For a nominal fee of $99.99/year or $12.99/month, you can immerse yourself in this dynamic community and unparalleled treasure-trove of aviation knowledge.

Embark on your journey now!

Click Here to Become a Premium Member and Experience Homebuilt Airplanes to the Fullest!

fuse welding

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

racer956

What is the best way to wweld the fuselage? I am an expert at mig welding and a modest tig welder. I was told it would be best to gas weld it. What are all your thoughts? Thanks

Gas weld it if you are new to welding high carbon, thinwall 4130. If You are good at TIG, that's great too. I do not recommend MIG on aircraft fuselage strucures..A few very talented people might be able to mig an airframe, but it's not a high quality weld. It's a high production weld, certainly not something you need to worry about if building one Sonerai fuselage...Ed

I agree with ED. I TIG weld for a living and I would gas weld it. As you know you only have about a Max of 1/8" when tigging as far as placement of your electrode to your work. The torch is much more forgiving as far as placement when welding around all of the tubing. Plus you still need to go back and heat up all of your weld clusters with a torch to stress relieve them anyway and the torch would be needed for that unless you can put the fuselage in a big oven like Air Tractor, Inc. does to their fuselages after Tig welding. Kevin