Fuel Tank Sealing Tips

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

GESchwarz

I would like to know how to close up an aluminum wet-wing fuel tank so that it will never, ever leak in a thousand years.

I have never done this before, but I think I have some pretty good ideas about how to do it. I want to run them past you veterans to see if you have any better ideas.

I have formed aluminum ribs that exhibit crimped flanges which mate to the inside of the skins. So this is an uneven surface. I think it might be a good idea to apply a coat of polysulfide sealant to the mating surface of the flange so as to fill the low spots of the crimps so that the resulting mating surface is more flat to the the skin to which it will be mated. This first coat would be allowed to cure before the actual mating. Before mating, a second coat of polysulfide would be applied.

Preping of the bare metal mating surfaces should be done with the same discipline to achieve a good bond as you would for a structural epoxy joint...Detergent clean, mechanical abraid, acid etch, DI water wash, rinse, and dry immediately prior to application of the sealant.

Every rivet hole that penetrates through the walls of the tank should receive a small bevel on both sides of the sheet. This bevel would provide a small volume of space for polysulfide be applied, that will not be wiped clean by the rivet as it passes through the hole. Upon bucking or pulling of the rivet, the rivet shank will expand into that space, the polysulfide will extrude out filling any leak in the immediate area of the rivet shank.