Quantcast

Corrosion Protection Test

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Jman

Site Developer
I'm writing this thread to document an experiment I've decided to run on the durability and corrosion protection capability of several popular primers for homebuilt aircraft. I don't have the time or money to test all of the primers that folks are using on their projects, so I've narrowed it down to 5 that are either popular or seem to have promise for use in my project. Please keep in mind I am not a scientist nor am I attempting to definitively prove anything. Here is how I will test these products.

Each product has been applied to two separate test coupons. A test coupon is a 2x2 6061 T6 .032 square with a 20mm X 2” rectangle of the same material riveted to it using A4 Avex rivets provided by Zenith Aircraft Company. The product was applied to the coupons and allowed to dry for 4 weeks prior to riveting together. All edges were left rough and not deburred.

Scratch Test: In order to ensure a fair scratch test I used a simple method to repeat the same scratch with varying amounts of pressure. I drove a finish nail through the end of a 2x4 so that the tip protruded about 1/8th inch on the other side. I clamped each test piece to the bench and positioned a weight on the 2x4. Once in position I slowly pulled the 2x4 across the test coupon. I made three scratches for each type of primer. One using a 6.3lb weight on the 2x4 to scratch 1 coupon and a 1.3lb weight on the 2x4 to scratch the other coupon. As an after thought I decided to make one more scratch using only the wight of the 1lb 2x4. After making the “calibrated” scratches I went ahead and put a nice deep scratch by hand making an X across the test scratches. I wanted to make sure I got to bare aluminum for the corrosion test detailed below.