Can ECM's (ECU's) be programmed for multiple fuel types?

Discussion in 'Mazda Rotary' started by TXFlyGuy, Oct 9, 2017.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

  1. Oct 9, 2017 #1

    TXFlyGuy

    TXFlyGuy

    TXFlyGuy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    426
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Example...can brand "X" engine control unit be programmed to run 100LL, 93E10, and 91E0?

    How about brand "SDS", or brand "L"?

    Does it make a difference?
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
  2. Oct 11, 2017 #2

    TXFlyGuy

    TXFlyGuy

    TXFlyGuy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    426
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Yes, I have the answer. "Dual Mapping" is what Link told me to do. With a switch to tell the ECU what octane of fuel you are burning.
     
    akwrencher likes this.
  3. Oct 12, 2017 #3

    pictsidhe

    pictsidhe

    pictsidhe

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    1,679
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Some can, but I dunno which. Some of the OEM ones have knock sensors that tweak on the fly.
     

Share This Page

arrow_white