Jabiru 2200 or 582? Discuss, please

Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum

Help Support Homebuilt Aircraft & Kit Plane Forum:

The benefit of your experience is requested. I have an Xair project with a 582 with oil injection, so I have two tanks, one oil, one neat gas/petrol. I have the opportunity to buy a very nice Xair, ready to go but with an early model (hydraulic tappets) Jabiru 4-stroke. There's little cost difference.
Which should I go for?

Rattler1 1

First I'm not an expert on Jabiru. I like the 4 stroke and have considered this engine many times as it looks good and its 4 stroke. But when I asked basically the same question when buying my Titan Tornado, I got a lot of negative info on the Jabiru. I have owned several 582's in different airplanes and gyrocopters. They always ran. On my Tbird I had 600 hours on it without touching it. But you need the right oil and in my opinion get rid of the oil injection and mix your oil in the gas. Only use Amsoil Intersepter. That said, I still keep looking at 4 cycles for some reason.

TFF

From what I have read, the early Jabiru engine is trouble. If it has the updates, it’s probably fine. If not, the Rotax might be the better choice. Which one can you afford if they break?

Thank you all. One of the benefits of a 4-stroke is that you don't have to fool around with fuel, you just add some and go. A 2-stroke mix will go off in a certain amount of time, whatever that may be. If you're leaving your aircraft for a month then you have to drain the tank, leaving you with an expensive can of useless but volatile liquid, something that having oil injection obviates. However, Rattler1 advises against this system - does anyone have experience of it?

TFF