FADEC with Garmin G3X Touch

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by Scheny, Feb 26, 2019.

  1. Feb 26, 2019 #1

    Scheny

    Scheny

    Scheny

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Hi,
    for our project we would like to use a powerplant which sends the engine parameters via FADEC. All sensors are buried inside and are not really accessible.

    The Garmin G3X Touch has a FADEC interface, but according to the manual you can only select Rotax and UL-Power.

    Is there a way to use the FADEC interface and if yes, how?

    Best regards,
    Andreas
     
  2. Mar 11, 2019 #2

    Scheny

    Scheny

    Scheny

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    It seems FADEC is where you guys draw the line with experimental aviation ;-)

    I dug through the manual and there is a cable where I could intercept the k-type thermocouple for EGT and a Pt100 for TIT, but I don't think you can use it in parallel to the ECU...
     
  3. Mar 11, 2019 #3

    rv6ejguy

    rv6ejguy

    rv6ejguy

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3,403
    Likes Received:
    2,396
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    On most glass engine monitors you can set up multiple 0-5V inputs to display sensor outputs from an ECU but it takes a compatible data interface to display the digital data outputs from an ECU to the glass. Garmin won't usually play ball unless there are enough numbers to justify the engineering time to build and test that.

    We only output fuel flow and RPM to most monitors from our ECUs.
     
  4. Mar 12, 2019 #4

    TFF

    TFF

    TFF

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10,920
    Likes Received:
    2,922
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Home made FADECs are complicated. My friend sold his heli-cycle turbine helicopter because it scrambled about ten feet off the ground. No damage but the engine just shut off. If you can build the electrics please do. I would not trust someone else’s unless they had at least 10,000 hours. It’s one place where piston electrics are somewhat trustworthy.
     
  5. Mar 13, 2019 #5

    Scheny

    Scheny

    Scheny

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    I would rather not fly without RPM, EGT, TIT and oil information and there unfortunately is no cockpit space left for the engine manufacturers OEM display.

    Good thing I am capable of building a CAN gateway then :) Just intercept the messages and convert them to voltages I can feed the Garmin
     
    rv6ejguy likes this.

Share This Page

arrow_white