Battery Charging Methods

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by Johnny luvs Biplanes, Mar 29, 2004.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

  1. Apr 5, 2004 #21

    Marilyn

    Marilyn

    Marilyn

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    That would be a haul

    Ok then, I'll look for the wind generator folks while I'm there and send you the contact info etc. when I get back.
    Watch for this thread again along about the 18th.
     
  2. Apr 6, 2004 #22

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
    Hi all,
    The alternator converted to wind generator is a stroke of genius :ban:
    I'll keep an eye open for a reply again too Marilyn.
    Cheers,
    John :)
     
  3. Apr 6, 2004 #23

    StRaNgEdAyS

    StRaNgEdAyS

    StRaNgEdAyS

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Northern NSW Australia
    Just a quick correction... on the alternator wiring.
    I said there was a wire going to the feild, this is not the case. On a self regulating job, it also self excites (sounds RUDE! :eek:). As such, the extra wire will be going TO the warning lamp.
     
  4. Apr 7, 2004 #24

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
    Many Japenese and now European types only use 1 wire now, even simpler! I'd be happy with a 2 wire type though, they're so straight forward.
    Cheers,
    John :)
     
  5. Apr 7, 2004 #25

    StRaNgEdAyS

    StRaNgEdAyS

    StRaNgEdAyS

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Northern NSW Australia
    Yeah they are certainly a far cry from the old Lucas jobs style. :gig:
    The reason I included a ground wire is because you really shouldn't depend on the airframe to supply the return path, a little water, dust and grit combined with the vibration from operating, and pretty soon you will have a high resistance joint where the alternator mounts to the plane. Then one day, you will be returning to your plane after landing on a remote grass strip, and there won't be enough power to start! :eek:
    Hand prop or not, witout power to make the spark, you won't be going anywhere!
     
  6. Apr 7, 2004 #26

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
    Srangedays, a very good point and one that's applicable to ANY electrical item. Only query I have in using an alternator is how fast it's going to spin with a prop on it? I only need 3AH so it wouldn't have to run at car speed but will it be enough?
    Cheers, John :)
     
  7. Apr 8, 2004 #27

    StRaNgEdAyS

    StRaNgEdAyS

    StRaNgEdAyS

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Northern NSW Australia
    The good thing about alternators, The only effect speed of rotation has is on the output frequency. since it is being rectified to DC, that is of no matter to us.
    I don't think you'll have any troubles at all.
    :ban:
     
  8. Apr 8, 2004 #28

    Davefl42

    Davefl42

    Davefl42

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Fl
    The guy's at the alternator shop came to our maintenance facility and gave a class. When troubleshooting a system we were told to full field the alternator, ie bypass the voltage reg, and then run the engine to at least 1700 RPM to check alternator output. If its a 60 amp alternator it should put out 60 amps or thereabouts. At lower RPMs it would not put out the 60 amps. Not sure what the RPM increase is on the alternator pulley but there is about 12 inches diameter on the ring gear to about 3 inches on the alternator pulley.

    Happy Trails
     
  9. Apr 19, 2004 #29

    Marilyn

    Marilyn

    Marilyn

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham, NC
  10. Apr 20, 2004 #30

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Johnny luvs Biplanes

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Epsom Downs, Surrey, England
    Hi Marilyn, thanks for remembering that for me. I'd have to consider how to make it look a lot older for it to be suitable, but otherwise ideal!
    Cheers, John :)
     
  11. Apr 20, 2004 #31

    Dust

    Dust

    Dust

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Troy, Michigan
    just have it shipped to my home for a week or two, it will look ancient in no time:p:

    enjoy the build

    dust
     

Share This Page

arrow_white