Would like to "fly around" just at or above ground effect-SLOWLY???

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

JBAZ

Hi all, I am an avid rc modeler and have been interested in flying around low and slow. By this I mean at or above ground effect like the human powered airplanes do But, want to use an electric or gas low hp motor. I live in the AZ desert so would like to fly in the local dry lakebeds.

Has anyone seen/heard of thus kind of flying? Something like a half sized 90' HPA with small motor. I looked intonground effect (wigs) but they cruise quite fast, faster than many slow ultralights.

Thinking about cruising around no higher than I am willing to fall.
:ermm:

StarJar

Well the thing is, you would need more wing area than an ultralight, and that stucture will add weight. Now you're heavier than an ultralight, so now you have legal issues.

Dana

Super Moderator
Staff member
This been discussed here before. Short answer is that low and slow is a good way to get hurt or killed, as the early hang gliders learned.

-Dana

Sometimes it is easier to beg forgiveness than get permission.

dragnfl1

i like my himax for goin up and cruising around and it taxies well 31 mph take off and 28 landing speeds not too bad for beginners

JBAZ

So what I am thinkingnabout is something like the Gossamer Penguin, that was about 70' wingspan, sized down from the Albatross, with addition of small brushed motor, NiCads and solar panels.

I get the comment about injuries from hang gliders etc, But that is not what I am talking about, more along the lines of the above mentioned G. penguin, or perhaps an Airchair, motor floater, have you seen the Bloop2, Goats etc from Mike Sandlin?

I did read that with the Penguin a gust rolled it and the "pilot" exited the ac through the mylar, the whole plane came down on him as well, luckily uninjured though and a few months after, another first in aviation was achieved.:)

StarJar