World Wide Internet Problems??

Discussion in 'Hangar Flying' started by Aerowerx, Oct 10, 2019 at 4:16 PM.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

  1. Oct 10, 2019 at 4:16 PM #1

    Aerowerx

    Aerowerx

    Aerowerx

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    Marion, Ohio
    The previous few days my internet speed has been absolutely horrendous. Was even getting "timed out site did not respond in time" here on HBA.

    Even my SO (visiting her family in the Philippines) was complaining. (Of course, Philippines is supposed to have the lowest average speed anyway.)

    I checked everything I could here, including a speed test with my service provider. Not spectacular, but within specs.

    Then I got investigating and found that there was a world wide problem. Allegedly caused by someone hacking into a high-level server somewhere. SCARY! There were several areas in the world reporting outages or slow-downs. Just think what a devoted "digital terrorist" could do!

    It was back to normal last night and today.

    Anyway, since HBA has members from all over, did anyone else notice the problem?
     
  2. Oct 10, 2019 at 4:42 PM #2

    cheapracer

    cheapracer

    cheapracer

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    5,111
    Likes Received:
    3,386
    Location:
    Australian
    OMG, no Internet! - we would actually have to go outside and work on our builds instead of wasting time talking about them!!
     
    bmcj likes this.
  3. Oct 10, 2019 at 7:05 PM #3

    galapoola

    galapoola

    galapoola

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    NJ
    We had some connectivity issues at work Wednesday in central NJ. One is the company wide circuit and the other from a separate vendor and is just for our engineering group. Both went down and became intermittent at the same time. Was wondering if Skynet had taken over.
     
  4. Oct 10, 2019 at 9:13 PM #4

    Aerowerx

    Aerowerx

    Aerowerx

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    Marion, Ohio
    I doubt it. Since we are here talking about it!:)

    By the way. I just installed a new modem for my internet/TV upgrade.

    WHHEEEEEE!!!! I can feel the wind in my hair! 78Mbs download 17MBs upload!
     
    bmcj likes this.
  5. Oct 10, 2019 at 11:45 PM #5

    Mark Schoening

    Mark Schoening

    Mark Schoening

    Well-Known Member HBA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    KRHI
    Anybody use satellite? I've heard horror stories. I live so far out in the boonies, access to high speed is non-existent, cept via cell phone ($$$) or a really poor and slow provider. .
     
  6. Oct 11, 2019 at 12:04 AM #6

    Dana

    Dana

    Dana

    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    8,546
    Likes Received:
    2,962
    Location:
    CT, USA
    We have satellite at the cabin, shared by around 20 families. It's not too bad until the monthly data allowance gets used up and they throttle it, then it slows to a glacial crawl. Heavy rain will knock it out. We have unlimited data on our cell phones, but there's not much cell service there.
     
    Mark Schoening likes this.

Share This Page

arrow_white