Quantcast

wood / metal

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Jim Williams

The Swiss Colibri MB2 is a wood design with a VW engine. I would like to make a all metal version of the aircraft. The empty weight of the wood Colibri is about 390 lbs, wing span 20 ft with 89 sqft wing area, lenght 15 ft. My Question is , is it possible to build an all metal Colibri and keep the empty weight close to the wood empty 390 lbs weight?
Why not make it of wood? Well I have 45 years experience working with aluminum and none with wood. My shop is set up for aluminum work. What do you think?

Jim W

orion

Yes, there is no reason that you couldn't make out of metal and aluminum just might come out lighter than the wood. However, this is not a simple substituting of metal for wood - you'll have to undertake (or have someone do it for you) the redesign of the structural aspects of the airframe in order to make sure that you still end up with a safe airplane.

Jim Williams

Thanks Orion for your reply. I have another question. In L. Pazmanys book "Light Airplane Design" I think I read to try to keep the aircraft C/G Between 15% and 30% of the MAC. The maximum forward C/G would be the aircraft at it's lightest weight, light pilot and low on fuel and the maximum Aft C/G would be the aircraft at it's gross weight with a big pilot full fuel. Am I right? Some times the maximum Fwd and Aft C/G will be only a few inchs apart. Am I right on this too?

Jim W

orion