Winter instruments

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by Danielle, Jan 7, 2013.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Jan 7, 2013 #1

Danielle

Danielle

Danielle

Its time for me to order some instruments for my Dakota Hawk build . I have to stay in budget so I was first thinking about the standard UMA or Falcon gauges from Aircraft spruce but there was a brand called "Winter " that looked very interesting. They have some unique features . But are they worth the extra cost? I have budgeted about 200 dollars per flight gauge and 130 dollars per engine gauge , anybody have any coast saving ideas that would work and still leave me with reliable gauges ?

Anyone out there have any opinions on the Winter brand of gauges.

Also this is my first build and I was wondering what the max speed on my airspeed gauge should be . My airplane will have a VNE speed of 120MPH. So should my Airspeed stop at 120 or 140 or 160 ?? "Winter" only makes gauges that go to 120 or 160 Mph?

The left side of my panel will have four 3,1/8 th inch flight gauges
    Airspeed
    Altitude
    Vertical speed
    Tach

The right side of the panel will be 2,1/4 inch
    fuel level
    Oil pressure
    Oil temp
    Voltage
    amperage
    cyl head temp
    OAT

Here is a photo of the blank panel as it is now .

100_1193.jpg

Last edited: Jan 7, 2013
  2. Jan 7, 2013 #2

autoreply

autoreply

autoreply

I would personally look for a (2nd hand?) EFIS which'll be in the same price range.

I have flown most of my hours behind Winters. German quality, accuracy and virtually indestructible. Any specific questions?

3. Jan 7, 2013 #3

cluttonfred

cluttonfred

cluttonfred

I have also done most of my microlight flight time in an Ikarus C42 with Winter gauges, they are very solid if somewhat expensive.