Wind Turbine Design

Discussion in 'Hangar Flying' started by TopherJA, Mar 10, 2012.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Mar 10, 2012 #1

TopherJA

TopherJA

TopherJA

Does anyone have experience with QBlade - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia wind turbine design software or wind turbine design in general? I am designing a blade and learning how different then prop design it is. Any suggestions on using the xfoil file formats?

2. Mar 10, 2012 #2

Retiree

Retiree

Retiree

I am glad you brought this topic up. I am working on wind turbine design from the point of view of airfoil design. I had not heard of Qblade.
    I have had some experience with XFoil, but it has been a long time. Maybe if you submit an input file with specific questions I can go back to look at what I did and maybe answer some questions.

Doug

3. Mar 15, 2012 #3

jnfrluis

jnfrluis

jnfrluis

6151 W Century Blvd Ste 1112, Los Angeles, CA 9004
    A wind turbine is designed to produce a maximum of power at wide spectrum of wind speeds. All wind turbines are designed for a maximum wind speed, called the survival speed, above which they do not survive.

4. Mar 15, 2012 #4

skeeter_ca

skeeter_ca

skeeter_ca

I drive out through Palm Springs, Ca pass area every day to work. It always amazed me that the hundreds of windmills would be shut down when the winds are really blowing hard, like 60mph+. I would think you could slow the props by changing the pitch to make sure they don't overspeed, but i'm sure the designers are alot smarter than me.

5. Mar 16, 2012 #5

skier

skier

skier

There are methods of controlling the wind turbines. Most have a rated power output that they try to maintain. At some point the wind gets too strong and the wind turbine needs to be shut down. Below is a typical graph of power output. Not only is the rated output power a function of the wind turbine, but it is also a function of the generator that is being used.

[​IMG]