what stall speed do I want?

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

DavidBooks

Howdy do. I'm designing a part 103 ultralight and at the moment I'm attempting to design the wings. I need to find the wing loading, but the only problem is that I need to have an ideal or wanted stall speed in mind for my aircraft. I plan to have a Hirth F-33 on it, and the structure will be mostly wood and somewhere in the range of x-250 lbs in weight. (It'll be somewhere in the range of 422lbs full weight) I have no prior experience with aircraft and I cannot find any reliable sources on the f-33's performance in flight. I need to have a stall speed in mind or I will not be able to calculate the wing loading. what would a reasonable stall speed be to aim for in this situation? Thank you.

Marc Zeitlin

Exalted Grand Poobah
I need to have a stall speed in mind or I will not be able to calculate the wing loading. what would a reasonable stall speed be to aim for in this situation? Thank you.
Well, since the Part 103 regulations require a stall speed below 24 KCAS, you should shoot for something less than that so that when you don't reach your desired performance (because nobody ever does), you'll still be legal.

Vigilant1

Lifetime Supporter
Part 103 itself bounds your answer. The maximum allowable power off stall speed allowed by that reg is 24 kts.

User27

At 422lb, and with a stall speed of 24KCAS your wing area will be around 145 ftsq for a CL of 1.5
Wing loading will therefore be around 3 lb/sqft.
An Aerolite 103 has a wing area of 124sqft

Bille Floyd

Howdy do.
... I plan to have a Hirth F-33 on it, ...
Your First post ; (WELCOME TO HBA) !!!

The F-33, puts out 28Hp, and is 40Lb with the redrive , (it's air cooled) ; the
Polini Thor 202, does 33Hp , and weighs 37Lb W/re-drive, (it's Liquid cooled).
The 202 is newer technology.

Bille

Dana

Super Moderator
Staff member