What software do you use?

Discussion in 'Aircraft Design / Aerodynamics / New Technology' started by Zzyzxx71, Jan 7, 2009.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

  1. Feb 7, 2010 #181

    Tom Kay

    Tom Kay

    Tom Kay

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ottawa Canada
    Hey Mitja;

    How did you make the short video of your Gnome rotating? Does Rhino have an anitmation feature?

    That looks great.

    Tom.
     
  2. Feb 7, 2010 #182

    Tom Kay

    Tom Kay

    Tom Kay

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ottawa Canada
    And while we're into software, has anyone tried the Cadre software for analyzing trusses? I've downloaded the demo, and received a demo fuselage-type structure from the sales guy, but haven't really gotten into it yet.

    Apparently you can do a 3d wireframe model in some software, export/import as a DXF, then apply loads, material properties and then hit the go button to give you the loads in each frame member. But I haven't gotten this far yet.

    Just curious if anyone uses it and finds it to be good.

    Tom.
     
  3. Feb 7, 2010 #183

    orion

    orion

    orion

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,800
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Western Washington
    I believe that Cadre was originally written specifically for truss type assemblies and from what I've heard from others, it is very good. Considering its relatively reasonable price, it's a pretty good deal.
     
  4. Feb 8, 2010 #184

    Pat Brett

    Pat Brett

    Pat Brett

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    I have been using CADRE Pro for a welded steel fuselage. It does do a good job with trusses, but I use Excell to create the data file and only used Cadre for getting the results. Attached is a view after a run.

    Pat
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Feb 8, 2010 #185

    Tom Kay

    Tom Kay

    Tom Kay

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ottawa Canada
    Hi Pat;

    The Cadre sales guy, Jim Haynes, said that you could do a wireframe 3D model, then import it as a DXF to Cadre. Have you ever tried that? If you only use Excel, how do you generate the drawing of your airframe?

    Thanks, Tom.
     
  6. Feb 8, 2010 #186

    ultralajt

    ultralajt

    ultralajt

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    750
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Render--> Animation--> Setup animation.
    Choose turntable, set number of steps, name of the rendering, what type of file (jpg) and directory to save all those jpgs. Then create renredings..it is automated job and it is explained in help menu.

    Then convert all those rendered slides aone after another to create a "movie". You need about 25-30 slides, to get a video 1 sec long.

    I made about 144 slides for one full rotation.
     
  7. Feb 8, 2010 #187

    Tom Kay

    Tom Kay

    Tom Kay

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ottawa Canada
    Mitja;

    It sounds like a lot of time-consuming work to create one second of video, but I gotta try it !

    Thanks, Tom.
     
  8. Feb 9, 2010 #188

    ultralajt

    ultralajt

    ultralajt

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    750
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Once you input the settings, Rhino automatically do the rotation of object, render the scene and save the jpg, and so on till all scenes are done. Just do the typing and go to sleep :)..all rest is done by rhino.
     
  9. Feb 9, 2010 #189

    Pat Brett

    Pat Brett

    Pat Brett

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Hi Tom,

    I generate the drawing in a CAD program (KeyCreator) and export a DXF. I then import it into Cadre, this works great. You then have to assign properties to the members, and bounds and loads to the nodes and you are ready to go!

    I use EXCEll because it is easier when there are lots of different members and load conditions.


    Pat
     
  10. Feb 9, 2010 #190

    Tom Kay

    Tom Kay

    Tom Kay

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ottawa Canada
    Pat;

    Great so far. Just curious if you have the Excel software configured to collect the data from the load application run. I mean, is Cadre also configured to export data into the Excel?

    I can see (having modeled a fuselage) that there would be a mass confusion of tubes going every direction. I assume that you'd name each separate tube segment, say A-B, and B-C, etc. And that would even mean that a single longeron would be broken up into segments based on where the clusters are formed.

    Thanks again. I haven't tried Cadre, other than importing the sample file that I was given by the sales guy, and then hitting the "Solve" button. It is neat to see what happens when the load is applied.

    Tom.
     
  11. Feb 9, 2010 #191

    Pat Brett

    Pat Brett

    Pat Brett

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Tom,

    I use the "Axial loads" from the results menu, then "Select all" and "Copy", then paste it into Excell, all the numbers go into individual cells. The members can be sized and the stresses determined. Cadre also provides the length of each member so compression members can be checked for column buckling stability.

    Pat
     
  12. Feb 24, 2010 #192

    RicardoFreire

    RicardoFreire

    RicardoFreire

    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro
    Hi, I'm new here and I'm starting in the airplane building.
    I will participate in competition here in Brazil...I'm trying to know how to use Autocad 2010, so could anyone send me a basic project in Autocad 2010 of a wood airplane.
     
  13. Feb 24, 2010 #193

    Dana

    Dana

    Dana

    Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    8,662
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I don't think you'll find too many people doing aircraft design in Autocad... it's not really well suited to this kind of work.

    -Dana

    "You sure it's broken? Let me make sure..."
     
  14. Feb 24, 2010 #194

    ultralajt

    ultralajt

    ultralajt

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    750
    Location:
    Slovenia
    YouTube - autocad

    Mitja
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2010
  15. Mar 5, 2010 #195

    Fluffy

    Fluffy

    Fluffy

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario Canada
    I've used both ProEngineer and Solidworks, and there's no competition. Maybe because I'd learned ProEngineer first, but Solidworks was excellent. The GUI was considerably more intuitive than ProE, Solidworks let me do what I wanted to do without giving me a billion caution and warning messages, and included really nice tutorials. The only thing I can complain about is the intent manager, as it's called, which guesses what you're trying to do. Some times it's right, other times it's putting constraints and relations on things I didn't want it to do. It took me a day to learn Solidworks on my own using the tutorials, and a bit longer to really get the hang of it. By comparison, ProE had almost a flat learning curve. Despite having a textbook on how to use it, I spent way more time trying to find buttons or trying to find what ProE was complaining about. In short, it's as if with Solidworks you're designing, and with ProE you're using CAD software. ProE is definitely a bit more advanced than Solidworks and I've heard it's better for large assemblies. But, unless your homebuilding something that could be certified as a 525 type aircraft, I'd think that Solidworks is more than sufficient. However, it's not free and I'm only using it as I got a free copy from my university. I think it's a bit pricy, but then again if you're building an actual aircraft a $200 on software isn't going to be a bad idea. I've built what I designed in Solidworks before, and it worked perfectly (...almost, I missed a little detail but it wasn't that important :) )

    Another option is as mentioned AutoCAD Inventor. I just started playing with it, and it's not too bad. Not quite as easy to use as a Solidworks, but it's better than ProE. There's a free academic version availiable online, so as long as your a "student" you'll get a freebie copy.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  16. Mar 6, 2010 #196

    lr27

    lr27

    lr27

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    469
    Fluffy: I think you forgot one of the zeros on the price for Solidworks. Either that or I'm about to rush out and get a copy.
     
  17. Mar 6, 2010 #197

    Fluffy

    Fluffy

    Fluffy

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario Canada
    Yeah, I should have verified that's for a student edition. Otherwise you're out about $3,000.

    Of course, you could just find a torrent... :ponder:
     
    clanon likes this.
  18. Mar 7, 2010 #198

    skier

    skier

    skier

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    CT
    I have used Unigraphics NX, Solidworks, ProE, and Catia. By far my favorite is Catia and I've heard similar things from other people who have used Catia.
     
  19. May 16, 2010 #199

    Mac790

    Mac790

    Mac790

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland
    Aerologic, Does anyone heard about it? Here is an example of it (and other softwares as well) SG-1 Sailplane - Aerodynamics

    Here is a direct webpage to software producer AeroLogic

    Here is a direct link to the demo version AeroLogic - Download and manual http://www.aerologic.com/Download/dwtdoc.pdf I haven't check it out yet, since still I have access to the mainstream softwares, but i would say with price around 3000$ it's an accessible software, compared to prices for example of Ansys Icem, etc.

    I've heard also about Rfoil, (but I wasn't able to track it down), it's an improved version of Xfoil, developted by some Dutch Uni's, I've heard it's availabe for free, but like I said I wasn't able to track it down, Auto have you heard about it?

    those simulations were done with Aerologic software, they did also Mini Imp.

    Seb
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.gif
      1.gif
      File size:
      30.4 KB
      Views:
      1,218
    • 3.gif
      3.gif
      File size:
      28.8 KB
      Views:
      501
  20. May 16, 2010 #200

    Jan Carlsson

    Jan Carlsson

    Jan Carlsson

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Sweden

Share This Page



arrow_white