what limits an ultralight to a gross weight when it pertains to the frame not the pow

Discussion in 'The light stuff area' started by joshwat1, Dec 6, 2013.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Dec 6, 2013 #1

joshwat1

joshwat1

joshwat1

i know it sounds like a stupid question but . im not an engineer . my prob is i have a plane that has a gross weight of 377 lbs . wet with pilot .
    the plane is a maxair hummer vtail . also would like to know is the a way to beef it up to where it would handle more weight . i have seen vids of people with there hummers and they have 503 motors on them and nose cones. i am sure those planes are over the 377 lbs easy . any help would be great thanks in advance

josh

2. Dec 6, 2013 #2

TFF

TFF

TFF

Re: what limits an ultralight to a gross weight when it pertains to the frame not the

They probably just do it. Maybe one size bigger cables; I bet they are not doing any design. How much more weight are you after? How much reserve do you have at the 254 lb mark?

3. Dec 6, 2013 #3

Dana

Dana

Dana

Re: what limits an ultralight to a gross weight when it pertains to the frame not the

Impossible to answer without knowing the original design parameters leading to the 377# limit. You'd have to know what design load factor was used, and what the weak point(s) of the structure is/are. Essentially you'd have to redo the entire structural analysis of the aircraft.

The 254# empty weight is a legal limit for Part 103 eligibility, not a structural limit.

Dana

A liberal is someone who feels a great debt to his fellow man, which debt he proposes to pay off with your money.

keith103, 1Bad88 and Topaz like this.
  4. Dec 7, 2013 #4

TFF

TFF

TFF

I was meaning difference of empty to 254. Then he has that much weight he can can work with.

5. Dec 7, 2013 #5

joshwat1

joshwat1

joshwat1