Quantcast

Volksplane wing question.

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Bigshu

HBA Supporter
I've been seeing VP-1 projects on the internet for good prices, so I bought a set of plans to see what I'd be getting into trying to complete one. One question I've got is, can the wing struts be fastened to a single attachment point, rather than running parallel to two attachment points. Do you have to run them to separate bulkheads, or can you run them to one, and beef it up to take the combined load? Obviously, I'm not an engineer...

cluttonfred

HBA Supporter
Theoretically possible? Sure. But it would require substantial recalculation and likely a lot more redesign than you realize. Better to build the VP as designed or go with a design that already has such the strut arrangement or no struts at all rather than redesign the VP. Off the top of my head, maybe you could look around for a Bobcat/Supercat project?

Bigshu

HBA Supporter
Thanks for the suggestion. The VP-1 has some design features I like a lot, I just think a different strut attachment would facilitate getting in and out of the cockpit. I wonder if comparison of the other designs would show substantial differences in the strut attachment points. If I went for a Bobcat/Supercat, I'd want to incorporate the rudder and stabilator from the VP-1, so I'm right back to a big redesign...Since the VP-1 project I'm interested in (Chiefly for the VW engine) has already been flown successfully, I won't be inclined to make rash changes. How hard is it to find an engineer who could vette such changes? Evans isn't available for VP-1 input, and I suspect that journeyman aeronautical engineers aren't too common.

cluttonfred

HBA Supporter