Vinyl Decals

Discussion in 'Finishing Techniques' started by TXFlyGuy, Dec 8, 2018.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Dec 8, 2018 #1

TXFlyGuy

TXFlyGuy

TXFlyGuy

A suggestion was made to use vinyl decals on my plane. We are looking into having some made, including a decal for the nose art.

Anyone here have experience with decals? Do they do well in the elements? Easy to apply?

2. Dec 8, 2018 #2

TFF

TFF

TFF

Many N numbers are vinyl. It is a fast way to get insignia. I hate to say it but with an epoch build like yours, it's a letdown. $20k airplane ok. I would rather fly it bare aluminum with nothing.

3. Dec 8, 2018 #3

Topaz

Topaz

Topaz

Yeah, I've got some experience associated with vehicle wraps, of which "decals" are a sub-set. You see them all over busses, tradesman trucks, etc. Far, far more than just lettering or insignia, you can do any kind of artwork you want - even photographs. Every member here has seen a thousand examples on the road. They're everywhere.