Vertical Strip Foam

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Markproa

Has anybody tried vertical strip foam as a method for building a one-off compound curved fuselage? It is described further down in this link- http://www.f-boat.com/pages/construction/methods_sb.html
I have plenty of experience with strip planking in cedar and end grain balsa cores but didn't use this method. I always thought it would be difficult to get a good seal for bagging or infusion and am amazed the vacuum doesn't pull the foam away from the mould, but plenty of boat builders have used this method. The problem for an aircraft would be the thin foam as it can't be held against the mould with screws from the back. Maybe some sort of temporary adhesive such as double sided tape. Once the fuselage inside has been glassed the section moulds could be carefully removed from the mould strips, then the strips peeled away.

Has anyone tried Corecell foam?

Mark

pictsidhe

I've been wondering what boat technique you might bring in. This one looks interesting. A vacuum film glued to the mould, then holding the foam to that with weak glue (post-it type?) might be worth a look?

Aerowerx

.... Once the fuselage inside has been glassed the section moulds could be carefully removed from the mould strips, then the strips peeled away.
I don't quite understand.

Are you leaving the foam in place and glassing both the inside and outside? Or using the foam just as a mould to form a fiberglass shell?

wsimpso1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Log Member
I do not get it either. Bigger picture Mark, tell us more of what you are talking about...

When making a compound curved sandwich structure, like the fuselage, we usually do something like this sequence:
Make an airtight mold by any of a bunch of means that extends beyond the part;