Ultralight questions

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Nichoxx

Hi,
I am fairly new to the world of ultralights and I have a few questions I was hoping you could answer about an ultralight I would be hoping to base my own project off. (Some of them are probably very stupid)
All of my questions refer to the Quicksilver MX Sport: http://www.quicksilveraircraft.com/images/MX SPORT/scan0003-1.pdf

I would be after the same propeller which is a 66x34, however what else do I need to know? Do I need to ask for it to be a pusher propeller? Is that a thing? Etc
The engine used in this is 40hp which seems awfully low for a propeller of this size? I was expecting to use a 100hp converted engine, for this propeller will I need that much power?
Also the RPMs shown would put that propeller over speed of sound which I thought was bad?

Dana

Super Moderator
Staff member
The propeller isn't spinning at 6500 rpm, there's a reduction drive, I think 2.58:1, so the prop is only turning around 2500.

100HP is way too much for a Quicksilver.

A propeller doesn't care whether it's a puller or pusher, what does matter is the direction of rotation, RH or LH.

radfordc

Hi,
I am fairly new to the world of ultralights and I have a few questions I was hoping you could answer about an ultralight I would be hoping to base my own project off. (Some of them are probably very stupid)
Maybe not stupid, but certainly shows that you lack a great deal of knowledge of the subject. What sort of project are you considering? And, why not just get a nice used Quicksilver and have some fun.

Nichoxx

The propeller isn't spinning at 6500 rpm, there's a reduction drive, I think 2.58:1, so the prop is only turning around 2500.

100HP is way too much for a Quicksilver.

A propeller doesn't care whether it's a puller or pusher, what does matter is the direction of rotation, RH or LH.
I couldn't find if they used one but I guess they do. What happens with 'too much' HP

TFF