twin engine light sport plans?

Discussion in 'General Experimental Aviation Questions' started by death31313, May 8, 2010.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. May 8, 2010 #1

death31313

death31313

death31313

I'm very new to this airplane building thing and was wondering are there any twin
    engine light sport plans out there, (preferably one that has a smooth flowing top wing design like a C-130). I'm a little indecisive and so I'd like to see what options are available for aircraft plans out there.

2. May 8, 2010 #2

Autodidact

Autodidact

Autodidact

If you mean LSA category, they are limited to single engine by the rule. As far as experimental category twins, they are few and far between.

3. May 8, 2010 #3

death31313

death31313

death31313

whoops, well ya i meant experimental sorry, kinda proves my lack of knowledge on the subject.

4. May 8, 2010 #4

Autodidact

Autodidact

Autodidact

Zenith had a prototype for a twin v dub powered plane; there is a retired aerospace engineer in Texas who built a replica of a P-38 Lightning. But there are not very many of those animals around; complexity issues, I think.:ermm:

5. May 8, 2010 #5

addaon

addaon

addaon

Cost, as well; both construction (engines are the most expensive part of many homebuilts) and operating. Still, a twin 912 with beta props would make a hell of a seaplane...

6. May 8, 2010 #6

HumanPoweredDesigner

HumanPoweredDesigner

HumanPoweredDesigner

I doubt cost of the engines would be a problem, since price scales with power. Probably just single engine out planning and air frame design would be the challenges. And the cost of two propellers.

Aside from that, I'd much prefer a twin engine so I have less air blowing in my face. And if it is possible to get a shroud on it, much quieter too.

7. May 8, 2010 #7

lr27

lr27

lr27

Well, there's always the Cri Cri! ;-) Probably a bit smaller than you meant.

Hmm....Aircam is plans built. Not terribly fast.