Turbo 4cyl build thoughts

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

Bradsopex

Hey all I have been mulling this over for a while and want to see what kind of thoughts many of you have. But first, some thoughts of mine. Correct me where applicable.

I'm an engineer, GA pilot, and part time race car/engine builder. I have built engines for time attack and endurance racing. As an engineer, I have worked with certifying components to meet FAA and military standards for EMI and environmental effects (temp/altitude effects, vibe, etc). I also worked designing systems for military aircraft.

I have been interested in auto conversions for quite some time. As a GA pilot, I am constantly astounded at the cost of a lot of the items associated with the plane. However, I do understand it. The GA industry is in a vicious cycle where the low volume (and high certification costs) mean they need to charge a premium for their parts. However, the cost keeps people from getting into aviation, therefor keeping the volume low. Given the capability of so many things you can obtain cheaply today thanks to advancements in manufacturing and other technologies, there is no reason for it to cost a small fortune to keep flying.

That being said, after lurking around the forum for a bit I think some are confused as to what the auto conversion should be. Many seem to get into looking into it thinking that the initial cost would be much cheaper than a certified engine. In some cases that can be true, but in many others you can find a used certified engine for the same price as modifying an auto engine. For me, the trust allure to it is the cost savings when it comes to overhauls, maintenance, and operating costs. I'm planning on doing a lot of back country flying, and being able to get an emergency part from an auto parts store and gas up at any gas station is just so tempting.