Trouble with plans..

Discussion in 'Wood Construction' started by nightvision, May 28, 2017.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. May 28, 2017 #1

nightvision

nightvision

nightvision

Hi everyone!
    I'm working on to calculate the roughly cost of a single place wooden airplane to build. Because the cost is most important aspect of homebuilding for me:)
    I have downloaded a minimax wooden airplane plan for free, thanks to team minimax:) Also I have bowers flybaby kit plan in PDF format.
    So, I can draw anything with some CAD softwares (such as Autocad) for laser cut as long as I know what to draw. I just downloaded the plans to draw whole the airplane's wooden structure on PC to calculate the cost of whole wood structure (including laser cut).
    BTW I work as a draftsman for a company, I draw cardboard packages for any products. We have a powerful laser cutting machine (Made for wood and sheet metal cutting) in the company. I can get a great discount for laser cutting from the company I think:) And the company has a plywood stock (5-6/9/12/15/18mm thickness) but I don't know whether they air aircraft quality. Anyway..
    Besides, I don't have much time to work on building such a structure and I don't have a garage or something to work in and the only place which I could work is my friend's workplace and it's 110km away from my home. That means I have only weekends to work on it. Thats why I don't consider hand-cutting instead of laser-cutting.

So the problem is, I can't read the plans! I dont know how to read and comprehend those plans to draw it on Autocad. I'm looking the plan's pages and I can't visualise the parts!
    How you guys read those plans:) I'm very begginner:)

Last edited: May 28, 2017
  2. May 28, 2017 #2

Norman

Norman

Norman

Check with your local high school or college. There should be a night class in basic blueprint reading.

3. May 28, 2017 #3

cvairwerks

cvairwerks

cvairwerks