Transponder (Bendix/King 76A) questions

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by Dave_A, Dec 23, 2007.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

  1. Dec 23, 2007 #1

    Dave_A

    Dave_A

    Dave_A

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok...

    My knowledge of avionics is pretty well limited to using them, plus the stuff you learn while getting your pilot's license...


    So here's the question...

    If I build an aircraft and use this model of transponder (KT76A), do I need some sort of external altitude encoder, or does the transponder have everything needed for Mode C operation inside?
     
  2. Dec 23, 2007 #2

    pd1

    pd1

    pd1

    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North of Boston,MA
    Dave A, The transponder doesn't have the encoder built in.
    You need an encoding altimeter or a blind encoder to supply altitude information to the transponder.
    The transponder will then take this information and transmit it.

    Paul
     
  3. Dec 23, 2007 #3

    wally

    wally

    wally

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    southwest TN.
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2007

Share This Page

arrow_white