The Prop windmilling on RX1/Apex engines

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

way_up_noth

The only issue ... I’ve come up with so far with the Yamaha conversion is that the prop windmills if you have an engine shutdown

I didn't write this as a critique ..everyone involved in the Yamaha conversion is doing out of love of aviation...volunteering time and expertise...

I'm not an expert on windmilling props...so I post this here for others to chime in and educate me on this issue....I'm not that familiar with rotax engines either... do they windmill on some of thier gearboxes also?

To this point it’s not been an issue as nobody yet has had an inflight engine outage...

But as of right now there is no easy means to stop the prop ... other then installing an electric constant speed prop so you can feather the propeller...

Everyone involved has answered all my questions and the Facebook site even compiles all known failures of parts or issues...it’s a good community

Any question I had were answered on the Facebook Yamaha conversion site in minutes...I texted Teal Jenkins with some questions and he responded within an hour...

Last edited:

TFF

As long as you don’t overspeed the prop windmilling, it’s going to be a non issue. At any one engine out it will help, hurt or indifferent. It would be the engine out and not having one would be the bigger concern.

wsimpso1

Super Moderator
Staff member
Log Member
You can not stop the prop by pulling the speed back for a few seconds? I would think that between the gearing and the high compression ratio of the Yamaha it would also.

rv7charlie

Freely windmilling props in an engine-out are actually a *big* concern, especially on an a/c that isn't already a 'box kite' in the drag dept. Consider the auto-gyro, and whether a spinning rotor makes a difference. Glide ratio is significantly affected by windmilling prop.