Tank Selector Valve - Andair, Newton, or...?

Discussion in 'Firewall Forward / Props / Fuel system' started by wsimpso1, Dec 4, 2018.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Dec 4, 2018 #1

wsimpso1

wsimpso1

wsimpso1

2. Dec 4, 2018 #2

rv6ejguy

rv6ejguy

rv6ejguy

I've used a Andair for 15 years and most of my hundreds of aircraft customers have too. I like the feel of the detents and action, have to lift the knob to turn it off and have had no seeps or leaks. Inexpensive it isn't though. If your return lines are longer than 4 feet, I'd go with 3/8 return fittings.

I have no direct experience with other brands of duplex valves so there may be something out there which is cheaper and just as good.

Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
  3. Dec 5, 2018 #3

BJC

BJC

BJC

If I had a need for such a valve, I would take out a loan and order the Andair.

BJC

4. Dec 5, 2018 #4

proppastie

proppastie

proppastie

are you happy with your Piper valve?.. probably lots of them out there reasonably priced from a salvage yard.

5. Dec 5, 2018 #5

gtae07

gtae07

gtae07

I went Andair as well. In fact it's sitting on my desk here as I type this--I'm doing some CAD work trying to figure out how to mount it and my throttle quadrant. (I've found it always works better to do it this way, than to try and figure it out in situ--make the drawing, then follow MIL-TFD-41C)
    cadshot.jpg

One tip--if you buy it, order it directly from Andair. It'll take a couple weeks but even with shipping and accessories (an extension) it was still much cheaper to do so than to buy it from Spruce.

6. Dec 5, 2018 #6

Toobuilder

Toobuilder

Toobuilder