System voltage drop during start

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by rmoehle, Jul 6, 2017.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

1. Jul 6, 2017 #1

rmoehle

rmoehle

rmoehle

Hello elec-xperts,
    My engine computer began dropping offline while cranking. I ran some tests, and the system voltage is >12V at power-on, but the bus voltage drops to ~8V while the starter cranks. I feel like this is below the operating voltage of the ECU.
    I'm far from an electrical expert - what could be wrong and what could I do to fix it?
    Thanks!
    Robert

2. Jul 6, 2017 #2

TFF

TFF

TFF

How old is the battery? Sounds like it has lost some capacity. I think a split buss/ emergency buss would be great. Starter on main batt and ECU on E buss batt and then tie together or something like that.

clanon and Swampyankee like this.
  3. Jul 6, 2017 #3

Dan Thomas

Dan Thomas

Dan Thomas

Before you blame the battery, take some voltage drop readings across the master contactor. Those things have huge copper contacts in them that oxidize with age and burn with use, both factors introducing resistance. And it only takes a tiny fraction of an ohm to cause a huge voltage drop at the bus. Ohm's Law, see? Volts = Ohms times Amps. A six-volt drop only requires .024 ohms at a 250-amp draw. Starters use that sort of current, bigger engines draw more.

Put the voltmeter on each side of the contactor, on the big terminals. Positive toward the battery side, negative toward the bus. It should read system voltage with the master off. Crank the engine; the voltage should drop to zero or very close to it.

Weak starting is often due to this or to the same sort of thing in the starter contactor, or both. Lots of batteries get replaced because of bad contactors.

4. Jul 6, 2017 #4

Mad MAC

Mad MAC

Mad MAC

Plus check the resistance between the battery and the starter, could be due accumulation of a bunch of poor connections.

5. Jul 6, 2017 #5