strobes versus flashers

Discussion in 'Instruments / Avionics / Electrical System' started by Jaysmiths, Jan 3, 2010.

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes Forum by donating:

  1. May 10, 2014 #21

    Toobuilder

    Toobuilder

    Toobuilder

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,471
    Likes Received:
    3,277
    Location:
    Mojave, Ca
    My ops limits say "...appropriately equipped..." This has been determined by EAA and FAA that this does NOT mean TSO'd lights. As long as they meet the output requirements, you're golden. Of course, it's on you to prove your one off, non TSO'd lights meet the standard if asked by the Feds.
     
  2. May 10, 2014 #22

    Will Aldridge

    Will Aldridge

    Will Aldridge

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Northern Utah
    Post #2 has a lot of good links in it. http://www.candlepowerforums.com

    And the last link in the post is a very comprehensive run down on the requirements for position and strobe lights.
     
  3. May 11, 2014 #23

    N8053H

    N8053H

    N8053H

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Right here in front of my computer

    Not every airplane has lights. If you have no electric system you will have no lights. UL's do not need any lights.
     
  4. May 11, 2014 #24

    N8053H

    N8053H

    N8053H

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Right here in front of my computer
    For landing lights we use Crazy Pilots landing lights. We only fly during day light hours but use these lights for those on the ground. We have an RC club here. They have no idea what we are doing as we fly along and it gets frustrating for them. When out and just flying along above pattern height we leave these in the wigwag position. When we go to land we go solid or constant on. These units can be seen in full sun light for about 1 mile.
    These are being used on EAB's

    Tony
     
  5. May 12, 2014 #25
  6. May 13, 2014 #26

    Will Aldridge

    Will Aldridge

    Will Aldridge

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Northern Utah
    Just found these bulbs from iJDMtoy.com . Obviously I don't know if the green meets FAA spec (probably doesn't from what I have read) but I was wondering if this light is the kind mentioned that could be good for a position light?

    I did look around on their site trying to find technical specs like lumens etc and didn't find anything.
     
  7. May 13, 2014 #27

    Toobuilder

    Toobuilder

    Toobuilder

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,471
    Likes Received:
    3,277
    Location:
    Mojave, Ca
  8. May 13, 2014 #28

    Will Aldridge

    Will Aldridge

    Will Aldridge

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Northern Utah
    Thanks for the links. Looks like good stuff. I guess you have to buy 2 of each color?
     
  9. May 13, 2014 #29

    Toobuilder

    Toobuilder

    Toobuilder

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,471
    Likes Received:
    3,277
    Location:
    Mojave, Ca
    That's what I did. Now I have spares that I'll probably never need.
     
  10. May 16, 2014 #30

    lake_harley

    lake_harley

    lake_harley

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    300
    I couldn't help but think of Lucas Electronics (think British cars, motorcycles, etc.) when I read your post regarding the 3 switch positions. On a Lucas motorcycle headlight switch though, the 3 positions are OFF, DIM and FLICKER :)

    Lynn
     
    Topaz likes this.
  11. May 16, 2014 #31

    crytes

    crytes

    crytes

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN / USA
    Not only can LED's be used to create brighter lights in almost any configuration you desire their much lower power draw allows you to build a much lighter electrical system if you take them into account when choosing wire and generators/alternators.
     
  12. May 16, 2014 #32

    bmcj

    bmcj

    bmcj

    Well-Known Member HBA Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    4,900
    Location:
    Fresno, California
    And that is when you are lucky enough to have a working system. Often, the Lucas 3 position switch selections were OFF, OFF and OFF. :gig:
     
    Topaz likes this.
  13. May 19, 2014 #33

    Dana

    Dana

    Dana

    Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    8,679
    Likes Received:
    3,056
    Location:
    CT, USA
    My British car owning friends speak of "Lucas, prince of darkness." And:
    Q: "Why do the British drink warm beer?"
    A: "Because they have Lucas refrigerators."

    Owning a succession of Fiats, though, I couldn't make too much fun of them...

    Dana
     
    SVSUSteve, lake_harley and Topaz like this.
  14. May 19, 2014 #34

    TFF

    TFF

    TFF

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11,721
    Likes Received:
    3,320
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    You mean OFF, Short, Short. I was driving a Triumph Spitfire and a 2 min rain shower hit. Car totally shut off. Only 5 fuses in the system but all were blown. Had 2 spares, found the ignition series and drove home. I do find it funny that Rotax uses Ducati ignition boxes.
     
  15. May 20, 2014 #35

    Will Aldridge

    Will Aldridge

    Will Aldridge

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Northern Utah
    Just found out about Kuntzelman strobes. Looks like a pretty nice setup, for a reasonable price. Supposedly the system linked to does meet FAA requirements.
     
  16. Mar 30, 2015 #36

    pe2aab

    pe2aab

    pe2aab

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Valkenswaard, Netherlands
    We installed Whelen Microburst II on the wingtips instead of the old strobes and navlights with lightbulbs and special power supplies for the strobe lights.
    They work very fine.
    wingtip.jpg
     
  17. May 13, 2015 #37

    rv7charlie

    rv7charlie

    rv7charlie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    Jackson
    If you're going to roll your own, don't forget that if building a strobe, you can get significantly more output than the rating from high power LEDs. The duty cycle is so short that even if you overdrive them by 100% or more, the average power would still be relatively low, because it's only on for maybe a tenth of a second (or less) every 1-2 seconds. Obviously there's a limit to the overdrive so that you don't get the voltage so high it totally fries the LED. Mfgrs like Cree often tell you how much they can be overdriven.

    Charlie

    removal of PS; I misread dates....
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2015

Share This Page



arrow_white