Storing Tube and Fabric outdoors in CA desert?

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

JayKoit

Hi all,

Newbie here, I have been considering several sheet metal designs (Zenith, Savannah) as well as tube and fabric (Skyranger, X-air H, Skyraider, Ridge Runner 3) for my first build. I was actually all about metal aircraft because of the fact they can be tied down outdoors, but many of the t&f craft are built around chromoly and aluminum tube cages, which are arguably better in a forced landing, so I expanded my horizons. Bottom line, I'm on a tight budget as it is (need to build complete for 30-35K), and tying down here in SoCal saves at least $3000 a year in hangar fees. Ideally, a quick folding trailerable aircraft that I can store offsite or in someone's hangar for cheap would be ideal (and all of my t&f options listed above do fold), but if that's not an option I just want to know:

If I get a full set of covers (like Bruce's, or equivalent) that cover every square inch of my plane from spinner to tail (including cowl plugs, tailcone, and prop), can I tie my plane down outdoors without too much degradation? Will that protect as well as covered parking or a hangar? Which fabrics would last the longest, and how long would they last if I stored outdoors under a full set of covers?

Also, can anyone tell me which fabric is used on the Skyraider/Ridge Runner? couldn't find it on the site.

I know there's a few threads out there about storing outdoors but I didn't find anything about using a full set of covers to combat the climate/weather.

I'm in the high desert of southern California, so summers are very hot and winters are cold, and we don't get much moisture at all. Would love to hear some feedback from tube and fabric aircraft owners on this. Thanks!

Dana

Super Moderator
Staff member