Quantcast

Sonex / Onex / CH650

HomeBuiltAirplanes.com

Help Support HomeBuiltAirplanes.com:

anaphylaxis

Since my last thread on the subject, I took another look at my requirements and decided that I needed to willing to spend a bit more.

It seems that the Sonex / Onex are the most cost effective options out there and have the most reasonable build times.

So, a few questions:

1. Any opinions on Sonex in general? I guess my main concerns are that I have limited space and no prior experience with this stuff. I'd hate to start on something and wind up with a project I have to sell.

2. How about on the Sonex vs. Onex? Onex seems to be the least expensive option out of any kit out there. The lack of a second seat isn't an issue, with a $2k difference it would be nice but extras add up quickly.

3. I see there are kits and partial completions out there. What is the best way to verify these are complete kits and ensure the quality of construction on partial builds? I'd hate to get a "good deal" and spend just as much undoing someone else's mistakes.

autoreply

Resale value of the Onex might be a lot lower. 2-seaters do far better on the 2nd hand market.

Make sure you fly any plane before building.

If you haven't built before, try to have an experienced metal-builder accompanying you to a potential buy. General impression of the builder you're thinking of buying from can also be telling.

Vigilant1

Lifetime Supporter
1. Any opinions on Sonex in general? I guess my main concerns are that I have limited space and no prior experience with this stuff. I'd hate to start on something and wind up with a project I have to sell.